It was the first walk of the night. I was a bit nervous, walked too fast, and to top it off, they gave us a number paddle to hold, which totally threw off my game plan, but I was able to still make it work. Happy smiles for a friend who was coherent enough to accurately throw the ball for me, for being able to see past the lights and see the ball coming at me, and for catching it... not with my face :) Woo! Got that one out of the way, and already got a whole new group of fans for it ;)
Next up: Swimwear #1
Everyone from the hostel came out to support me! And boy did they do a good job! I by far had some of the loudest cheers for the night! :) They also get credited for all of the photos I am posting, although, as their vision got blurry throughout the course of the night, quite a few of the photos did as well.
Round 2: Beach/Resort wear round
YAY for doing well! Making everyone proud :) Time for a quick break while they do a round of Mr. Cable Beach and all the guys come out dancing to "I'm sexy and I know it".
Sick of the spa music they kept playing for the girls, I secretly asked if they could play the same song for me when I came out for the next round (because I wanted to mimic some of the funny dances/poses/pushups that the boys had just done for their walk), to which they initially told me yes.... and then at the last minute, said no :(
Round 3: Swimwear #2
That moment when you spot another friend in the crowd who points at you haha
As the night dragged on, there were quite a few girls who seemed to lose interest, and really any sense of fun in the situation. But me and a few others happily danced in the prep room, took advantage of the free champagne and made the most of the night.
One more time out on the runway....
And the winner of Miss Cable Beach 2015 is....
Not me
:(
haha
Not even top 3... which everyone was quite upset about.
It's terrible, but the girl that won, got very little applause, and even a few boo's...
Everyone seemed pretty confused over the judges pick's.
The tall girl to my left was 3rd. And nobody even remembered the first and second place girls.
Yet again, I was the crowd favorite, feeling like a celebrity mingling with everyone in the crowd afterwards. If only that titled had $5000 attached to it.
I'm a good sport... but gosh darn it, I hate losing.... especially when it doesn't seem to make a whole lot of sense. But regardless, I had a great time, and I am pretty proud of myself for my fun/bubbly personality.
I had a welcome home party waiting with their congratulations, condolences, hugs, and drunken rants and raves about how ridiculous it was that I didn't win haha.
At the end of the night, I was named Miss KK, got late night kitchen access to stuff my face with food and chocolate, and went to bed feeling proud and loved by all my friends :)













Way to go Jennifer... we love you.
ReplyDelete