src='http://playlist.me/w/script.js' type='text/javascript'/>

.

.

Monday, August 10, 2015

Miss Cable Beach!

Miss Cable Beach....



It was the first walk of the night. I was a bit nervous, walked too fast, and to top it off, they gave us a number paddle to hold, which totally threw off my game plan, but I was able to still make it work. Happy smiles for a friend who was coherent enough to accurately throw the ball for me, for being able to see past the lights and see the ball coming at me, and for catching it... not with my face :) Woo! Got that one out of the way, and already got a whole new group of fans for it ;)

Next up: Swimwear #1








Everyone from the hostel came out to support me! And boy did they do a good job! I by far had some of the loudest cheers for the night! :) They also get credited for all of the photos I am posting, although, as their vision got blurry throughout the course of the night, quite a few of the photos did as well.



Round 2: Beach/Resort wear round






YAY for doing well! Making everyone proud :) Time for a quick break while they do a round of Mr. Cable Beach and all the guys come out dancing to "I'm sexy and I know it".

Sick of the spa music they kept playing for the girls, I secretly asked if they could play the same song for me when I came out for the next round (because I wanted to mimic some of the funny dances/poses/pushups that the boys had just done for their walk), to which they initially told me yes.... and then at the last minute, said no :(

Round 3: Swimwear #2





That moment when you spot another friend in the crowd who points at you haha




As the night dragged on, there were quite a few girls who seemed to lose interest, and really any sense of fun in the situation. But me and a few others happily danced in the prep room, took advantage of the free champagne and made the most of the night. 

One more time out on the runway....


And the winner of Miss Cable Beach 2015 is....




Not me
:(
haha

Not even top 3... which everyone was quite upset about.
It's terrible, but the girl that won, got very little applause, and even a few boo's...

Everyone seemed pretty confused over the judges pick's.
The tall girl to my left was 3rd. And nobody even remembered the first and second place girls.

Yet again, I was the crowd favorite, feeling like a celebrity mingling with everyone in the crowd afterwards. If only that titled had $5000 attached to it. 

I'm a good sport... but gosh darn it, I hate losing.... especially when it doesn't seem to make a whole lot of sense. But regardless, I had a great time, and I am pretty proud of myself for my fun/bubbly personality. 


I had a welcome home party waiting with their congratulations, condolences, hugs, and drunken rants and raves about how ridiculous it was that I didn't win haha. 


At the end of the night, I was named Miss KK, got late night kitchen access to stuff my face with food and chocolate, and went to bed feeling proud and loved by all my friends :)


Saturday, August 8, 2015

No Photos... Just Living :)


Is it weird that I don’t have a car? Or even need one to get around? If it is, I haven’t noticed. In fact, I only just realized that I walk everywhere, and can count on one hand, the number of times I have caught the bus. That, is Broome in a nutshell. The daily routine of going to work, walking to Coles get my groceries, maybe stopping in one or two of the few shops that there are, walking home, hanging out by the pool for a bit, going for a run once the sun and the heat have gone down, stopping to lay in the grass and staring at the stars for a while, before going back to the KK to whip up something AMAZING to eat ;) and mindlessly watching wannabe-American reality TV. It’s a rough life. I do appreciate the fact that there isn’t a need to constantly do something with every minute here. It is perfectly acceptable to enjoy doing nothing. Which I am taking full advantage of for the next few weeks, knowing that it is now less than a month before I am reunited with Lauren and we start a new adventure, which will undoubtedly be full-on, nonstop fun and craziness!!

I might not have major stories to tell about my time here, but that certainly does not mean that days have been lacking in excitement. Work always seems to deliver in that department, ranging from the funny stories I get from dealing with all sorts of interesting people at the front desk, to accommodating people in town for an Aboriginal Convention, and having to deal with the repercussions of a massive fight/disturbance during the night and trashed rooms with broken windows. 

On my days off, I do manage to get a little more creative with how I spend my time, like going out to Gantheaume Point early in the morning with Charlie, to walk the 5k along Cable Beach, and reward ourselves with the breakfast buffet, overlooking the beautiful scenery, and watching whales leaping out of the water in the distance. This week I even have a hair appointment, IN AN ACTUAL SALON! That’s a first. But don’t worry, I’m still not paying for the haircut ;)... Why yes, unknown call that I answered at work, I would like to be a mystery shopper for the expensive salon down the street, thanks!

I keep wanting to go out to eat here, as there are quite a few cute looking little cafes. But I have been warned over and over that food in Broome is really not worth it and is overpriced, and that, along with the fact that I desperately need to save money for the next part of my trip, keep me from giving in. Not to mention, I have already been to the local brewery Matso’s, and eaten at the best place in town, The Mangrove Hotel (with a 50% staff discount! Woo!), of which I have to say, was nothing special, and for how much build up there was to it, I have never been so heartbroken over a brownie in my entire life. They should hire me as their dessert chef. Seriously, it was THAT bad. And so the brownie craving lingers on.... The struggles of living without an oven. 

Probably because of the relaxed atmosphere, Broome has been somewhere where I have been able to settle down and actually start painting again. Having worked up a small collection since being here, and having a free weekend, I finally decided to have a go at selling my stuff at the weekend courthouse market. Not thinking it through fully, I pretty much picked the worst day of the worst weekend to give it a try. It was the weekend of the “staircase to the moon”, during which, they also do night markets. So the Sunday morning that I went, it was pretty dead, and I wasn’t able to sell anything. But nevertheless, I made friends with some of the other vendors, and got a taste for what it was like. I’ll just take it as a warm up for the next weekend. 

I did go to watch the staircase to the moon again, as it will be the last one that I am here for. To avoid the crowds, I decided to walk out to the sand dune hill that I walk by every day on my way to work. Great location! There were only a few people, and I was amongst others who decided not to spend the entire moonrise hiding behind a clicking camera. It was nice and quiet and peaceful just sitting and watching. Unfortunately, I paid for the peacefulness over the next few days with the agonizing pain of itchy sand fly bites.... I swear, I don’t have chickenpox... or bedbugs. Ugh. 

Needless to say, Miss Cable Beach has been quite an experience in itself. It’s not something I ever thought I would do, but it has been a lot of fun and been a much needed focal point for the competitive side of my personality that has been suppressed far too long now. Tomorrow is the big day! $5000 on the line, it may be a longshot, but gosh darn it, I will try my hardest! Whatever that may mean in pageant terms... At the very least, it has been something to look forward to, and I’m excited to have a reason to do my hair and nails and makeup tomorrow, and just in general, feel like a normal girl for a day. Who knows, in the spirit of it all, I might even get a little crazy and actually try and match my clothes in the morning. 

Over the past few weeks, I have received all kinds of jokes and funny remarks from my coworkers about being in Miss Cable Beach, but through it all, they have been really supportive. Everyone from the front desk staff, to housekeeping, kitchen and maintenance have periodically commented that they are going to come and cheer me on. “I’m going to be like “YEAAAA CHARLIE!!!!”.... umm my name is Jennifer, but I appreciate the enthusiasm Arnie :). The supposed cheering squad also includes my boss, and even the general manager of the hotel... Weird? Maybe. But also kind of awesome! Like I said before, my work atmosphere is very family-like. If they all show up, along with my supporters from the KK (assuming they actually make it out to the bar this time), I should hopefully have a good fan-base from the start this time. 

One more sleep! And less than 24hours!! Eeek!

Oh how I’ve missed you, my beloved Nutella....