src='http://playlist.me/w/script.js' type='text/javascript'/>

.

.

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Miss Cable Beach

So besides the insane amount of nerves all day leading up to the Miss Cable Beach competition.... how did it go?

Considering all week everyone had been telling me "oh, you will for sure win!" and I continually came back with "but watch, there will be a 6ft-something blonde girl, and I guarantee you she will win"... of course it was just my luck that I was the first one to arrive to the venue... followed by two girls who fit that very description. 

When you are paying really close attention to the director, who is nonchalantly telling the directions for your catwalk and where to stop and pose, it really doesn't help settle the nerves, especially when all of the other girls seem so calm. Luckily, we were allowed to go out into the bar area and mingle with our friends before the start, and inbetween each walk. 

Considering I was more than a foot shorter than all of the other girls, I knew I was going to have to do something to stand out (in a more positive way). So for the first walk, which was just in jean shorts and the Miss Cable Beach shirt, I made the executive decision to accompany my outfit with my Nike's, my Seahawks hat, and some eye-black. Strutting out onto the first two catwalks, hat backwards and posing the best I knew how, I then walked down the middle, dramatically flipped the hat around, and gave a cheeky smile. Yes, I just established myself as the fun one in the group. 

We had to do walks in two different pieces of swimwear, and one in a more formal beach/resort-wear outfit. 




We also had to answer a couple of questions, like "what is our favorite thing about Broome?" and "What is your most outstanding feature?" And I have to say, when the girls before you answer that second question with "bum.." "my legs..." "legs".... I am really quite proud of the laughs and cheers that I got when I answered "My smile... or my left hook... and the fact that I could give it to ya WITH a smile on my face"...


So what was the result?! I got 3rd. The tall blonde (second from the right) won. And the tall blonde (second from the left) got second. Did I call that or what?! $100 and a free camel ride tour for a third place finish.

BUT! Here is the kicker. Afterwards, the presenter approached me and told me that I had actually tied for 2nd, and that the three of us were so close that they had to count and recount the scores, and because of it, I was guaranteed to go through to the finals anyways. SO! This adventure is not quite over! Which I'm glad, because it was actually a lot of fun! And I am WAY too competitive to let it end there ;)

The number of strangers (and judges) that came up to me afterwards and told me that I was the most fun and that I was their favorite, was a win in itself. I like to think that if it were fan vote, I would have won. But hopefully that means I will have a bigger fan base for the finals.

Save the date. August 9th. Miss Cable Beach Finals.... Let the preparation, plotting and scheming commence!

No comments:

Post a Comment